Digital Citizenship Policy Guide

In reflecting on the following topics, it was crucial for me to reflect on my own experiences with the following matters as well:

  • Why is an awareness of one’s digital presence important?
  • What is your digital presence?  What is it saying about you?
  • As a future teacher, what role will your digital presence play in your professional life?

WHY IS AN AWARENESS IMPORTANT?

It is crucial for our youth to understand more than how to use a laptop, the internet, an iPhone, the App Store, but to understand the difference between using and abusing this privileged age of technology. There are several factors that play into it that several students, parents, and even faculty fail to recognize initially. Health is huge when it comes to understanding a limited use of technology. The amount of stimulus found on an iPhone can have the average persons’ attention for hours, and that can be found in only one app. I figure, the typical person has anywhere from 20-30 apps on their phone.

Teenagers spend 27 hours a week online: how internet use has ballooned in the last decade

“People are spending twice as much time online compared to 10 years ago, fueled by increasing use of tablets and smartphones.”

The Telegraph, By 

Technology in Hours/Day

DIGITAL PRESENCE

Another huge thing that our youth (and even adults) fail to realize– once its on the internet, it never goes away. SOCIAL MEDIA IS BIG. The presence you establish online, is one that will follow you to the future. Pictures posted, words blogged, accounts made– all play into your digital profile. Many jobs ask initially the social media accounts you are registered under for this specific purpose– to gain a sense of what you choose to portray in a very public matter.

The ‘follow’ Controversy

7 Social Media Mistakes

AS A FUTURE EDUCATOR

I AM VERY cautious of the things I post, the blogs I write, and the presence I establish on all accounts. This is not only a professional, but also a personal matter. People need to begin to understand the gravity of protecting their security, personal information, and ultimately: their reputations.

5 thoughts on “Digital Citizenship Policy Guide

  1. I agree with everything you said. It’s hard for both parents and kids to limit their hours when using technology though. Especially when kids watch and do exactly what they see their parents do. Social media is big and that’s where a lot of educators struggle to have one. I think as future educators we must learn to keep only certain things online. One thing that is a barrier to this tho is when people tag you in stuff that you didn’t want to post. Like going to parties and stuff. Thankfully though we can untag ourselves

    Like

  2. Your post was on point. You had me rethinking and wondering if I abuse social media, but then again I don’t really post bad stuff, but you are right about kids copying what they see. And I think as future teacher’s, older siblings, parent’s we can steer the young ones in a better direction.

    Like

  3. I loved the chart you shared with us, very informative! I feel as though we as a society all are becoming more and more reliant on technology. Because we are always engaged with technology, it is so important to make sure our students are going to be safe while online. It is also important that we make sure our students can’t see our private lives, we have to keep it private! 🙂
    Thanks, Brittany Zago

    Like

  4. Hi Alexcess,
    I always enjoy your posts. When I read your work, I literally say out loud, “me too.” I also strongly feel that it is imperative to monitor what we post online. We never know who will get a hold of your personal information or photos. I also liked the statistic that you posted, I didn’t realize how much long teenager spend online weekly. I remember spending my days with friends and at the mall and the internet was only used for homework and research. How the times have changed. Thank you for your great post!

    Like

  5. It is so important for kids and adults to understand that whatever you post online never goes away. Not many people understand this and it is something that I try to remind myself before posting certain updates on social media. Great job on your blog post, I enjoyed it very much! Keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a comment