Cloudware

Cloudware is data that is built, deployed, delivered via one big remote server to any device. Essentially, it delivers data with the help of some software on the internet. Some forms of cloud ware you might be more familiar with are Google, the Apple App Store, and Yahoo Finances. Cloudware is used to deliver all of these services to us as technology users.

Cloudware in most cases allows us to simply subscribe to an application rather than download or purchase it.

For example, google is used on a daily basis to deliver information, store files, and transmit data, but we never download google onto our laptops, we simply use the search engine and online cloud to create slides, manage documents, share pictures, send e-mails, etc.

In my experience, cloudware has been an immense help to me. I use google daily and for EVERYTHING. Most of my files are shared online with groups in different classes or colleagues. Due to the fact that cloudware is even possible, I am able to edit other people’s files, access them, and/or share. Now- I know this almost sounds sketchy but cloudware also has a series of security systems. Bots and Viruses aren’t usually found in the popular pages that come up in Google, Yahoo, etc. (unless you look for them). You can also ONLY share files with your permission.

That is not to say cloudware is a perfect form of internet security, recently, there have been issues with forms of cloudware that have allowed for hackers to break into important data sites like credit bureaus. However, with the help of internet geniuses, and firewalls, the FBI is doing all they can to ensure that Cloudware remains a safe internet environment for all its users.

Recently they have come up with these tips to ensure that we do our part in keeping cloudware safe:

“Here are some tips from IC3 to help protect against CryptoWall:

  • Use a firewall and antivirus software from a reputable company and allow automatic updates.
  • Use popup blockers.
  • Back up your device’s content elsewhere.
  • Don’t click on emails or attachments from sources you don’t recognize, and stay away from sketchy websites.
  • Immediately disconnect from the Internet when alerted to an infection on a device.”

4 thoughts on “Cloudware

  1. Thanks for including some information on how to be safe while using cloudware! This is important to share with students so they understand the risks and what they can do to protect their privacy. I learned a few new things from your blog and the resources you included, good job:)

    Like

  2. I never thought about the possibility of others hacking into my personally owned content on cloudware like Google Apps for Education, but I am glad that they do have so many securities in place! I am always sure to only share my work with those who I trust like my peers and professors, and everything else is kept private.

    I never thought of financial tools as cloudware, but now that I am thinking about it, wouldn’t the stock exchange be cloudware, since so much financial information is kept in the cloud to be sent electronically from country to country and broker to broker? Also, isn’t our bank system technically run through their own encrypted cloud softwares, so that electronic payments and transfers go through immediately? Awesome post!

    Like

  3. I enjoyed your post, it honestly gave me an even better idea of what cloudware is. I hadn’t even thought of the negative side of it and how hackers are able to get this information that is in the cloud. This being said, it is almost inevitable to avoid using cloudware. Just like technology advances, so do the hackers, but that also means protection against them advances as well, Great job!

    Like

Leave a comment